Book Review: Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan

That’s when it hits me. There is nothing in the world I want to do more than learn to jive.

Bea Hogg is small but fierce. And when dance competition Starwars shows up at her school looking for talent, she wants to sign up. But what’s a girl to do when her best friend leaves her behind in favour of joining the meanest girl in school’s dance group?

51Bm2jovWSL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_This was such a fun read! I was giggling non-stop, and I simply can’t wait to read the rest of the series – each one written from the perspective of a different ‘Ladybird’ (Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl). I’m especially looking forward to learning more about Pearl. Those who know me well know that I have a soft spot for ‘mean girl’ type characters. I’m sure there’s more to Pearl than meets the eye!

Anyway – Flirty Dancing is Bea’s story, and I loved every word of it! Bea is shy, yet deep inside she is fiery beyond belief. She has a family that loves her, friends that care, and one big problem: Pearl Harris hates her guts.

This book does a wonderful job at introducing the four girls that will lead us through the rest of the series. And it’s super refreshing to see a love interest that isn’t all broody and dark – Ollie is a sweetheart! Also, shout out to Bea’s little sister. I’ve never giggled so much in my LIFE!

I was cheering for Bea every step of the way. So much so that by the end of the book, I was so nervous I had to run and get myself a giant bowl of ice cream. Overall, a fantastic story from cover to cover!

Total stars: 5/5!

You can find links to buy Flirty Dancing at GoodReads!

One thought on “Book Review: Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan

Leave a Reply

